/Karnataka Polls: Congress Releases Final Candidate List: Check Names Of Mangalore City North, Raichur And More

Karnataka Polls: Congress Releases Final Candidate List: Check Names Of Mangalore City North, Raichur And More

The Congress published its sixth and final list of five candidates for the impending Karnataka assembly elections on Thursday. This comes after the party replaced Mohammed Yousuf Savanur as its candidate from Karnataka’s Shiggaon constituency, currently under Chief Minister Basavraj Bommai, and fielded Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan in his place on Wednesday.

In the final shortlist, Mohammed Shalem was selected from Raichur, BV Rajeev Gowda from Sidlaghatta, S Anand Kumar from CV Raman Nagar (SC), HP Sridhar Gowda from Arkalgud and Inayath Ali from Mangalore City North, PTI news agency reported.

Bommai defeated congressional candidate Sayed Azeempeer Khadri Shiggaon in the 2018 election.

The party published its fifth list on Wednesday with three new candidates in which BC Muddugangadhar was fielded from the Mulbagal (SC) seat, DK Mohan from KR Pura and AC Srinivasa from Pulakeshinagar, a seat reserved for Schedule Caste candidates.

With the sixth list, Congress has announced 223 candidates, marking one seat in the 224-member assembly for the Sarvodaya Karnataka Party, a regional group, according to PTI.

READ ALSO | Karnataka’s ‘Little Maharashtra’ seeks language rights as border dispute erupts ahead of polls

Karnataka Election 2023: Star Congress Activists

Notably, the Congress on Wednesday published the list of star activists for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections on May 10. Party leaders Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Congress Speaker Mallikarjun Kharge, former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar and party MP Shashi Tharoor are among those who will be campaigning in the state bound for the polls. The list has a total of 40 names that will campaign for the state.

The list also has names of other Congress notables including Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Karnataka Party Chief DK Shivakumar, Karnataka Assembly Opposition Leader Siddaramaiah, Karnataka-in-charge AICC Randeep Surjewala, KC Venugopal, Jairam Ramesh, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, their Chhattisgarh and Himachal Pradesh counterparts Bhupesh Baghel and Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu, among others. However, the name of Rajasthan Congress leader Sachin Pilot was not listed.

MORE ABOUT THIS: Karnataka Polls: Sonia Gandhi, Rahul, Shettar Among Star Congress Activists, Pilot Name Missing

The last date for the presentation of candidacies is April 20.

The assembly elections in the state held by BJP will be held on May 10 and the results will be announced on May 13.